Hello, Universe (Hardcover)

Hello, Universe Cover Image
By Erin Entrada Kelly, Isabel Roxas (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Apr 24 7:45pm
(middle readers)

Description


Winner of the Newbery Medal

"A charming, intriguingly plotted novel."--Washington Post

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."--Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms.

The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

"Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone--humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."--School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062414151
ISBN-10: 0062414151
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English

New / Hot Fiction

The Marsh King's Daughter Cover Image
The Only Story Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Noir Cover Image
The Fallen (Memory Man #4) Cover Image
The Saint of Wolves and Butchers Cover Image

New / Hot Nonfiction

Staff Pick Logo
A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership Cover Image
The Truth about Animals: Stoned Sloths, Lovelorn Hippos, and Other Tales from the Wild Side of Wildlife Cover Image
God Save Texas: A Journey Into the Soul of the Lone Star State Cover Image
The Art of the Wasted Day Cover Image
Forest Bathing: How Trees Can Help You Find Health and Happiness Cover Image

New / Hot for Kids

Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
My Worst Book Ever Cover Image
Moon Cover Image
Someone Farted Cover Image
Ghosts of Greenglass House Cover Image