Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) (Hardcover)

Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Apr 24 7:45pm
(Young Adult)

Description


With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Z lie Adebola remembers when the soil of Or sha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Z lie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Z lie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Z lie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Z lie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Or sha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Z lie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." --Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." --New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic " --New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." --Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." --Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

About the Author


Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: Children of Orisha

New / Hot Fiction

The Marsh King's Daughter Cover Image
The Only Story Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Noir Cover Image
The Fallen (Memory Man #4) Cover Image
The Saint of Wolves and Butchers Cover Image

New / Hot Nonfiction

Staff Pick Logo
A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership Cover Image
The Truth about Animals: Stoned Sloths, Lovelorn Hippos, and Other Tales from the Wild Side of Wildlife Cover Image
God Save Texas: A Journey Into the Soul of the Lone Star State Cover Image
The Art of the Wasted Day Cover Image
Forest Bathing: How Trees Can Help You Find Health and Happiness Cover Image

New / Hot for Kids

Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
My Worst Book Ever Cover Image
Moon Cover Image
Someone Farted Cover Image
Ghosts of Greenglass House Cover Image