Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) (Hardcover)

Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jun 19 7:45pm
(Young Adult)

Description


With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Z lie Adebola remembers when the soil of Or sha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Z lie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Z lie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Z lie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Z lie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Or sha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Z lie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." --Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." --New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic " --New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." --Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." --Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

About the Author


Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: Children of Orisha

New / Hot Fiction

Warlight Cover Image
The Outsider Cover Image
Less Cover Image
Tin Man Cover Image
The Frozen Hours: A Novel of the Korean War Cover Image

New / Hot Nonfiction

The Soul of America: The Battle for Our Better Angels Cover Image
Sh*tshow!: The Country's Collapsing . . . and the Ratings Are Great Cover Image
October: The Story of the Russian Revolution Cover Image
The Restless Wave: Good Times, Just Causes, Great Fights, and Other Appreciations Cover Image
How to Change Your Mind: What the New Science of Psychedelics Teaches Us about Consciousness, Dying, Addiction, Depression, and Transcendence Cover Image

New / Hot for Kids

The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik Cover Image
One of Us Is Lying Cover Image
Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
Calling All Minds: How to Think and Create Like an Inventor Cover Image
Children in the Woods Cover Image