Chelsea's Picks

 

 

Chelsea joined the crew in November of 2021. She loves children's literature, campus novels, fantasy/sci-fi, rom-coms, and all things cozy. She also writes our weekly Snowglobe newsletter, sign up here!

 

Do you judge a book by its cover?
Absolutely!

Dogear or bookmark?
Bookmark for marking my place, dogear for marking favorite passages to return to later.

Monogamist or polygamist reader?
Read all the books! And audiobooks, too!

First book that made a big impression on you?
Several, but the first that comes to mind is The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier.

Favorite book growing up?
Harry Potter everything. I'm a proud member of the HP generation, having grown up with the book series in real time. Hogwarts forever!

Your mission as a bookseller?
My mission as a bookseller is helping you discover -- or rediscover -- the right book at the right time.

Staff Pick Badge
Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands By Heather Fawcett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593500194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - January 16th, 2024

Mysterious faeries arrive at our curmudgeonly (yet lovable!) professor Emily's university, throwing her world into a danger she didn't know existed. Enchanting with a little edge, I didn't want the story to end. The audiobook is incredible (accents! drama!), highly recommend!


Staff Pick Badge
The English Experience: A Novel (The Dear Committee Trilogy #3) By Julie Schumacher Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780385550123
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - August 15th, 2023

A wonderfully witty, wryly humorous conclusion to Schumacher's trilogy (Dear Committee Members; The Shakespeare Requirement) that follows Professor's Fitger across the pond on an ill-fated study abroad program. This one has all her trademark sharpness mixed with compassion and a sliver of hope--a little light around the door frame, as Fitger would put it, to make you wonder about what happens next, long after you close the book.


Staff Pick Badge
The Rachel Incident: A novel By Caroline O'Donoghue Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593535707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 27th, 2023

As soon as I finished this book, I went back and re-read the first chapter, just to stay with Rachel and James a little longer. O'Donoghue deftly captures all the messy-wonderful intensity of young adulthood and the haven of friendship during turbulent times. Loved it!


Staff Pick Badge
How I Won a Nobel Prize: A Novel By Julius Taranto Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316513074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 12th, 2023

A resolute grad student follows her disgraced mentor to the island of cancelled academics in this high-concept satire. Brilliantly absurd and laugh-out-loud funny, this one surprised me -- what a ride!


Staff Pick Badge
The Wishing Game: A Novel By Meg Shaffer Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593598832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 30th, 2023

The most magical book I've read in years! A masterful blend of light & dark, and a heartwarming homage to the power of children's books.


Staff Pick Badge
The Housekeepers By Alex Hay Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781525805004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graydon House - July 4th, 2023

"I LOVED this book! Think Ocean's 11 meets Downton Abbey, complete with a raucous party and an unbelievably bold heist. Clever, vengeful fun!"


Staff Pick Badge
Psyche and Eros: A Novel By Luna McNamara Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063295070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - June 13th, 2023

Immersive, fierce, and romantic retelling of Greek mythology that felt wholly indulgent.
Fans of Jennifer Saint and Madeline Miller -- read this next!


Staff Pick Badge
The Will of the Many (Hierarchy #1) By James Islington Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781982141172
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - May 23rd, 2023

I am enthralled. Exceptional world-building, compelling political intrigue, and dark, secretive academies--LOVED it. Perfect for fans of Pierce Brown (Red Rising) and Patrick Rothfuss (The Name of the Wind).


Staff Pick Badge
The Late Mrs. Willoughby: A Novel (MR. DARCY & MISS TILNEY MYSTERY #2) By Claudia Gray Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593313831
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 16th, 2023

Mr. Darcy and Miss Tilney return to solve another case in this cozy, Jane-Austen inspired murder mystery series. Austenites will appreciate all the character detail and returning to some favorite places in new ways. I'm hooked on the series and can't wait for the next book!


Staff Pick Badge
Atalanta By Jennifer Saint Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250855572
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 9th, 2023

Lush and beautiful retelling of the story of Atalanta who earns her place in the pantheon of the greatest Greek heroes. This is the first Jennifer Saint novel I've read, but now I'm on my own mythic quest to read them all!


Staff Pick Badge
I Have Some Questions for You: A Novel By Rebecca Makkai Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593490143
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - February 21st, 2023

A complex campus novel whose sharp prose and meta narrative creates an immersive, multi-layered experience. I especially loved the references to classic film and the complicated comparisons to and nature of memory.

Fans of the serial podcast won't want to miss this!


Staff Pick Badge
Pineapple Street: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) By Jenny Jackson Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593490693
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - March 7th, 2023

This one's a sharp, funny, and surprisingly endearing look into the lives an old-money New York family that epitomizes the blue-blood elite. A modern comedy of manners (think Jane Austen, Frances Burney, Henry James...) that I thoroughly enjoyed.


Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Spoon: A Novel By Jessa Maxwell Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781668008003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - March 7th, 2023

Who knew this Great British Bake Off themed murder mystery could be so delicious? Clever, cozy, and atmospheric--you won't look at the Bake Off tent the same way again!


Staff Pick Badge
My Last Innocent Year: A Novel By Daisy Alpert Florin Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250857033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - February 14th, 2023

Academic/Campus novels (novels set in and around universities) are my favorite genre, so I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. Set in 1990s New England, this quietly propulsive novel explores an artist coming-of-age as she navigates the grey areas between agency and coercion, desire and power, loyalty and betrayal. Incredible.


Staff Pick Badge
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries By Heather Fawcett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593500132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - January 10th, 2023

Charming blend of fantastical faerie lore and seemingly mismatched academics set against a shadowy, snowy wonderland. Meticulous (it is an Encyclopadia after all!) yet magical, can't wait for the next book, Map of the Otherlands (January 2024).


Staff Pick Badge
Age of Vice: A Novel By Deepti Kapoor Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780593328804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 2nd, 2024

Wow! The hype is real. Epic, unrelenting crime drama that pulls no punches. Ruthless, cinematic, totally captivating.


Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas Six (Atlas Series #1) By Olivie Blake Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250854544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 6th, 2022

Addictive dark academia about an elite secret society of magical academicians that's spellbinding, ruthless, and sexy. I devoured this one -- and also loved the sequel, Atlas Paradox.


Staff Pick Badge
The Latinist: A Novel By Mark Prins Cover Image
$26.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780393541274
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 4th, 2022

A dark and twisty campus novel that's subtly thrilling and incredibly engrossing. Intertwining perspectives from two Oxford classicists, renowned Professor Eccles and promising Doctoral candidate Tessa, embody and reimagine the Daphne and Apollo myth, exploring scholarly ambition, power dynamics, love, loss, and obsession.

Sharp and suspenseful, I can't stop thinking about this book!


Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful By Nghi Vo Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250820129
Availability: Not in-store, but we'd be happy to order one for you.
Published: Tordotcom - March 29th, 2022

Lush & lyrical reimagining of The Great Gatsby from Jordan Baker's perspective that beautifully elevates and unravels the original. Dark and magical, essential reading for Gatsby fans (& non-fans, too!).


Staff Pick Badge
Book Lovers By Emily Henry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593334836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 3rd, 2022

A self-aware rom-com that subverts and embraces the best romantic tropes. Perfect bookish romance with a brooding love interest, a small town bookstore in need of rescue, and steamy library scenes. Hot!


Staff Pick Badge
Love & Saffron: A Novel of Friendship, Food, and Love By Kim Fay Cover Image
By Kim Fay
$24.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780593419335
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 8th, 2022

Heartwarming historical fiction that celebrates the best things in life--food, friendship, and open hearts. Set in 1960s America, this epistolary novel shares the story of two women, Joan and Immy, as they navigate an era of cultural & societal change through a shared love of food, writing, and sharing their favorite recipes. A sweet and gentle story that just may inspire you to cook up something new!

Check out the audiobook too, which brings this friendship to life!

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance Games By Jennifer Lynn Barnes Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759555402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 27th, 2021

An underdog outsider competes and conspires with the wealthy would-be heirs of an enigmatic late billionaire for a world-changing inheritance. Fun and fast-paced, full of puzzles, riddles, intrigue, and danger, I couldn't put this down!  (Young Adult)


Staff Pick Badge
Hot Dog: (Winner of the 2023 Caldecott Medal) By Doug Salati Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593308431
Availability: Not in-store, but we'd be happy to order one for you.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 24th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Every Good Boy Does Fine: A Love Story, in Music Lessons By Jeremy Denk Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780812985887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - March 21st, 2023

I've been thoroughly enjoying coming-of-age-as-an-artist stories (there's a word for this: "k├╝nstlerroman"), and I'm particularly fond of this memoir. It's an intimate, funny, and bittersweet story of an unlikely journey by one of America's foremost pianists. The audiobook is read by the author, interspersed with his music, creating an immersive experience. Highly recommend!