Chelsea's Picks

 

 

Chelsea joined the crew in November of 2021. She loves children's literature, illustrated texts, fantasy/sci-fi, and all things cozy. It's my goal to read every picturebook we carry!

 

Do you judge a book by its cover?
Yes! I love a well-designed book cover and am frequently drawn in by appealing aesthetics. However, I know from experience that looks can be deceiving.

Dogear or bookmark?
Bookmark for marking my place, dogear for marking favorite passages to return to later.

Monogamist or polygamist reader?
Polygamist reader but genre monogamist. I always have multiple books in progress, but rarely two of the same ilk. This habit comes from the necessity of having to read everything all the time as an English major!

First book that made a big impression on you?
Several, but the first that comes to mind is The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier. "Do I dare disturb the universe?" reimagined.

Favorite book growing up?
Harry Potter everything. I'm a proud member of the HP generation, having grown up with the book series in real time. Hogwarts forever!

Your mission as a bookseller?
My mission as a bookseller is helping you discover -- or rediscover -- the right book at the right time. Let's go on an adventure!

Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas Six (Atlas Series #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250854513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 1st, 2022

Addictive dark academia about an elite seret society of magical academicians that's spellbinding, ruthless, and sexy. I devoured this one -- can't wait for The Atlas Paradox (10/2022).


Staff Pick Badge
The Latinist: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393541274
Availability: Backordered
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 4th, 2022

A dark and twisty campus novel that's subtly thrilling and incredibly engrossing. Intertwining perspectives from two Oxford classicists, renowned Professor Eccles and promising Doctoral candidate Tessa, embody and reimagine the Daphne and Apollo myth, exploring scholarly ambition, power dynamics, love, loss, and obsession.

Sharp and suspenseful, I can't stop thinking about this book!


Staff Pick Badge
Vladimir: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982187637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - February 1st, 2022

Clever, engrossing, and daring portrayal of desire, power, and the dark tensions between the old & new guards in academia. Nabokovian. Compelling. So much better than the cover suggests!


Staff Pick Badge
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780756405892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DAW - April 7th, 2009

Epic fantasy that throws the reader into the heart of the hero. This is world building at its finest--convincing, epic, and astonishing. Fans of Tolkien will love this journey.


Staff Pick Badge
Dune Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780441013593
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - August 2nd, 2005

I revisited this in anticipation of the film's release (2021), and it didn't disappoint. Adventure, political intrigue, and heady environmental and philosophical explorations. Astonishing, epic in scale and impact. A classic for a reason!


Staff Pick Badge
Love & Saffron: A Novel of Friendship, Food, and Love Cover Image
By Kim Fay
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593419335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 8th, 2022

Heartwarming historical fiction that celebrates the best things in life--food, friendship, and open hearts. Set in 1960s America, this epistolary novel shares the story of two women, Joan and Immy, as they navigate an era of cultural & societal change through a shared love of food, writing, and sharing their favorite recipes. A sweet and gentle story that just may inspire you to cook up something new!

Check out the audiobook too, which brings this friendship to life!

 


Staff Pick Badge
Heiresses: The Lives of the Million Dollar Babies Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250202734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 15th, 2022

Expansive and ambitious historical survey of the intriguing, dramatic lives of wealthy heiresses spanning the 17th - 21st centuries. Witty and well-researched with a pinch of parlor gossip for added flavor.

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance Games Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759555402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 27th, 2021

An underdog outsider competes and conspires with the wealthy would-be heirs of an enigmatic late billionaire for a world-changing inheritance. Fun and fast-paced, full of puzzles, riddles, intrigue, and danger, I couldn't put this down!  (Young Adult)


Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062975171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 4th, 2022

What would you do if you found out you were magical, but then learned that your powers are illegal? That's what Amari must discover and decide in this supernatural adventure, which starts as a quest to find her missing brother. Fantastical yet realistically woven together, with a huge helping of bravery, compassion, and heart. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson need to meet Amari. I highly recommend this book! (Ages 8-12+)

 


Staff Pick Badge
Once Upon a Tim Cover Image
By Stuart Gibbs, Stacy Curtis (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534499256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

Loved this book full of brave knights, dangerous creatures, funny characters, and fancy words (IQ Boosters!). Reminded me of The Phantom Tollbooth, but with peasants and beasts and angry ogres. A great adventure! (Ages 7-10+)


Staff Pick Badge
Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837141
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - February 25th, 2020

So much fun! A magical adventure for book lovers of all ages. Mystery, magic and friendship await, you'll want to dive right into these pages.

Perfect for middle grade readers, would also make a great book for parents or teachers to read aloud together with kids or students. (Ages 8-12+)


Staff Pick Badge
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (MinaLima Edition) (Illustrated edition) Cover Image
By J. K. Rowling, Minalima Design (Illustrator)
$37.99
ISBN: 9781338716535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - October 26th, 2021

Minalima's artistry and paper engineering are unmatched. The illustrations and designwork are just as magical as J.K. Rowling's storytelling. Perfect gift for Potterheads and new readers alike.


Staff Pick Badge
InvestiGators Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

The InvestiGators series of graphic novels follows the adventures of two alligator spies, Mango & Brash, as they solve cases and go on wild adventures. I LOVE these books, full of goofy humor, wordplay, and wonderfully bad puns. The comic book panels offer fun visual storytelling with vibrant colors and expressive characters. Ages 7-9+


Staff Pick Badge
Super Detectives! (Simon and Chester Book #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780735267640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - February 8th, 2022

A goofy-fun detective novel for early readers & gum shoes alike. Delightful illustrations, pop culture references, and witty banter make this a great read for all ages. I dare you not to fall in love with Von Curl Tail! (Ages 6-9)


Staff Pick Badge
Garlic and the Vampire Cover Image
By Bree Paulsen, Bree Paulsen (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062995087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 28th, 2021

"Oh grapes!" I love this very sweet, charmingly spooky, overall endearing folkloric tale of little Garlic's quest to confront a mysterious vampire. Illustrations and comic stylings make this accessible for young readers but adults will love it too! (Ages 8-12+)


Staff Pick Badge
Chez Bob Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316483117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

You can't help but cheer for Bob in this amusing tale with slyly-funny illustrations. Lively, expressive, and full of "yummy birds"! Ages 4-8


Staff Pick Badge
The Littlest Yak Cover Image
By Lu Fraser, Kate Hindley (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781682632826
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Peachtree - October 5th, 2021

A delightfully fun rhyming read-aloud, with beautiful illustrations and an even sweeter message. The Littlest Yak will steal your heart! Ages 4-8


Staff Pick Badge
Norman Didn't Do It!: (Yes, He Did) (Mother Bruce Series) Cover Image
By Ryan Higgins, Ryan Higgins (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368026239
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 7th, 2021

Whimsical, charming, and witty! Norman's friendships (old & new) will delight. Ages 3-5


Staff Pick Badge
Out of a Jar Cover Image
By Deborah Marcero, Deborah Marcero (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593326374
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - February 8th, 2022

Beautifully illustrated text about the importance of exploring, expressing, and sharing emotions. Perfect for kids, but just as helpful for adults! Simple yet significant, a wonderful companion to Marcero's In a Jar. Ages 3-7

 


Staff Pick Badge
Somewhere in the Bayou Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324015932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Norton Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

If you like Jon Klassen's 'Hat' books (This is Not My Hat, I Want My Hat Back, We Found a Hat) you'll love this one! Minimally illustrated yet incredibly expressive, Somewhere in the Bayou is layered and funny, with a message that encourages openness and curiosity. Ages 6-8


Staff Pick Badge
Interrupting Chicken: Cookies for Breakfast Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536207781
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Candlewick - November 9th, 2021

I adore Stein's Interrupting Chicken books! A great little collection of books to read with kids, these are witty, funny, and entertaining. Cookies for Breakfast is silly, sweet, and vibrantly illustrated. Be sure to also check out Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise, school-age kids will love it (as well my fellow English majors!). Hilarious and smart. Ages 4-8