Chelsea's Picks

 

 

Chelsea joined the crew in November of 2021. She loves children's literature, illustrated texts, fantasy/sci-fi, and all things cozy. It's her goal to read every picturebook we carry!

 

Do you judge a book by its cover?
Absolutely!

Dogear or bookmark?
Bookmark for marking my place, dogear for marking favorite passages to return to later.

Monogamist or polygamist reader?
Polygamist reader but genre monogamist. I always have multiple books in progress, but rarely two of the same type. This habit comes from the necessity of having to read everything all the time as an English major!

First book that made a big impression on you?
Several, but the first that comes to mind is The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier.

Favorite book growing up?
Harry Potter everything. I'm a proud member of the HP generation, having grown up with the book series in real time. Hogwarts forever!

Your mission as a bookseller?
My mission as a bookseller is helping you discover -- or rediscover -- the right book at the right time. Let's go on an adventure!

Staff Pick Badge
The Idiot: A Novel By Elif Batuman Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 13th, 2018

At times I couldn't wrap my head around this book -- but I couldn't put it down, either. Mundane yet gripping, absurd yet authentic, over-written yet leaves you wanting more. Read it!


Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful By Nghi Vo Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250820129
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - March 29th, 2022

Lush & lyrical reimagining of The Great Gatsby from Jordan Baker's perspective that beautifully elevates and unravels the original. Dark and magical, essential reading for Gatsby fans (& non-fans, too!).


Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas Six (Atlas Series #1) By Olivie Blake Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250854513
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Tor Books - March 1st, 2022

Addictive dark academia about an elite seret society of magical academicians that's spellbinding, ruthless, and sexy. I devoured this one -- can't wait for The Atlas Paradox (10/2022).


Staff Pick Badge
The Latinist: A Novel By Mark Prins Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393541274
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 4th, 2022

A dark and twisty campus novel that's subtly thrilling and incredibly engrossing. Intertwining perspectives from two Oxford classicists, renowned Professor Eccles and promising Doctoral candidate Tessa, embody and reimagine the Daphne and Apollo myth, exploring scholarly ambition, power dynamics, love, loss, and obsession.

Sharp and suspenseful, I can't stop thinking about this book!


Staff Pick Badge
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) By Patrick Rothfuss Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780756405892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DAW - April 7th, 2009

Epic fantasy that throws the reader into the heart of the hero. This is world building at its finest--convincing, epic, and astonishing. Fans of Tolkien will love this journey.


Staff Pick Badge
Dune By Frank Herbert Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780441013593
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Ace - August 2nd, 2005

I revisited this in anticipation of the film's release (2021), and it didn't disappoint. Adventure, political intrigue, and heady environmental and philosophical explorations. Astonishing, epic in scale and impact. A classic for a reason!


The Librarian Spy: A Novel of World War II By Madeline Martin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781335426918
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - July 26th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running: A Memoir (Vintage International) By Haruki Murakami Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307389831
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Vintage - August 11th, 2009

An engaging meditation on connected life between running + writing. Simple yet profound, a must-read for endurance sports enthusiasts. You don't have to be a runner to enjoy Murakami's memoir, though you just might want lace up after reading it.


Staff Pick Badge
Book Lovers By Emily Henry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593334836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 3rd, 2022

A self-aware rom-com that subverts and embraces the best romantic tropes. Perfect bookish romance with a brooding love interest, a small town bookstore in need of rescue, and steamy library scenes. Hot!


Staff Pick Badge
By the Book (A Meant To Be Novel): A Meant to be Novel By Jasmine Guillory Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781368053389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Avenue - May 3rd, 2022

Modern fairy tale rom-com inspired by Beauty & the Beast that's cheesy--yes--but cute, perfect if you're looking for a light summer read. Isabelle is an editorial assistant who finds herself in the company of Beau, a celebrity struggling to write his memoir that's past due to the publisher. Isabelle steps up to help him write, discovering more about the reclusive Hollywood star as she pushes through roadblocks in her own career. While there's no talking candelabra, the expansive library, lush gardens, and enemies-to-lovers fairytale offer plenty to escape into for an afternoon.


Staff Pick Badge
Love & Saffron: A Novel of Friendship, Food, and Love By Kim Fay Cover Image
By Kim Fay
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593419335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 8th, 2022

Heartwarming historical fiction that celebrates the best things in life--food, friendship, and open hearts. Set in 1960s America, this epistolary novel shares the story of two women, Joan and Immy, as they navigate an era of cultural & societal change through a shared love of food, writing, and sharing their favorite recipes. A sweet and gentle story that just may inspire you to cook up something new!

Check out the audiobook too, which brings this friendship to life!

 


Staff Pick Badge
Lore Olympus: Volume One By Rachel Smythe Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593356074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Worlds - November 2nd, 2021

Glamorously illustrated and visually striking re-imagining of Greek mythology in a modern world. Romantic, moody, dramatic.

Plus it's a Hugo Award finalist by an Eisner-nominated creator. Seriously, you've got to see these illustrations.


Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance Games By Jennifer Lynn Barnes Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759555402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 27th, 2021

An underdog outsider competes and conspires with the wealthy would-be heirs of an enigmatic late billionaire for a world-changing inheritance. Fun and fast-paced, full of puzzles, riddles, intrigue, and danger, I couldn't put this down!  (Young Adult)


Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) By B. B. Alston Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062975171
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 4th, 2022

What would you do if you found out you were magical, but then learned that your powers are illegal? That's what Amari must discover and decide in this supernatural adventure, which starts as a quest to find her missing brother. Fantastical yet realistically woven together, with a huge helping of bravery, compassion, and heart. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson need to meet Amari. I highly recommend this book! (Ages 8-12+)

 


Staff Pick Badge
Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837141
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Puffin Books - February 25th, 2020

So much fun! A magical adventure for book lovers of all ages. Mystery, magic and friendship await, you'll want to dive right into these pages.

Perfect for middle grade readers, would also make a great book for parents or teachers to read aloud together with kids or students. (Ages 8-12+)


Staff Pick Badge
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (MinaLima Edition) (Illustrated edition) By J. K. Rowling, Minalima Design (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. K. Rowling, Minalima Design (Illustrator)
$37.99
ISBN: 9781338716535
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - October 26th, 2021

Minalima's artistry and paper engineering are unmatched. The illustrations and designwork are just as magical as J.K. Rowling's storytelling. Perfect gift for Potterheads and new readers alike.


Staff Pick Badge
Batpig: When Pigs Fly (A Batpig Book #1) By Rob Harrell, Rob Harrell (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rob Harrell, Rob Harrell (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780593354155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - November 9th, 2021

A bite from a radioactive bat turns Gary the ordinary pig into Gary the superhero BATPIG! Funny and punny, great for fans of Investigators and DogMan.

Rob Harrell is one of my favorite illustrators, with bold line work and expressive characters. Pg. 62 is my favorite.


Staff Pick Badge
InvestiGators By John Patrick Green Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

The InvestiGators series of graphic novels follows the adventures of two alligator spies, Mango & Brash, as they solve cases and go on wild adventures. I LOVE these books, full of goofy humor, wordplay, and wonderfully bad puns. The comic book panels offer fun visual storytelling with vibrant colors and expressive characters. Ages 7-9+


Staff Pick Badge
Garlic and the Vampire By Bree Paulsen, Bree Paulsen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Bree Paulsen, Bree Paulsen (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062995087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 28th, 2021

"Oh grapes!" I love this very sweet, charmingly spooky, overall endearing folkloric tale of little Garlic's quest to confront a mysterious vampire. Illustrations and comic stylings make this accessible for young readers but adults will love it too! (Ages 8-12+)


Staff Pick Badge
I'm a Unicorn By Helen Yoon, Helen Yoon (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Helen Yoon, Helen Yoon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536219760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 20th, 2022

The illustrations really hooked me in on this one -- sweetly minimalist, expressive, and humorous. Love this little unicorn!


Staff Pick Badge
BAKE: My Best Ever Recipes for the Classics By Paul Hollywood Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781635579291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 19th, 2022

Be a Star Baker! This cookbook is filled with Paul Hollywood's classic recipes, and includes step-by-step info (and pictures!) so you can earn your own Hollywood handshake. Perfect for fans of the Great British Baking Show, or any baker who wants to master the classics.


Staff Pick Badge
Cult Classic: A Novel By Sloane Crosley Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374603397
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD - June 7th, 2022

An absurdist rom-com with some hot takes on our obsessions with social media, wellness trends, and start-up culture. Inventive, quirky, and full of wry humor, it's a rom-com for people who don't like rom-coms.