Gretchen's Picks

Gretchen joined the Snowbound crew in the summer of 2020, and has a very handsome dog named Rosie Cotton.


Dogear or bookmark?
Now I am become death, the destroyer of books--dogear all the way.

Your mission as a bookseller?
To share some nasty books with some fellow freaks!

The Familiar: A Novel By Leigh Bardugo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250884251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 9th, 2024

The Angel of Indian Lake (The Indian Lake Trilogy #3) By Stephen Graham Jones Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668011669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - March 26th, 2024

Staff Pick Badge
James: A Novel By Percival Everett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - March 19th, 2024

I read this in one sitting because I couldn't possibly set it down. No need to bother reading the summary--just trust me and take this home. A MASTERPIECE.


Natural Beauty: A Novel By Ling Ling Huang Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593472941
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - April 9th, 2024

Staff Pick Badge
Monica By Daniel Clowes Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781683968825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics - October 3rd, 2023

Pensive, existential, and stark--Monica is simply fantastic. Clowes mashes genres together like a madman, and I never could guess where this was headed next! I think fans of Ottessa Moshfegh would enjoy this one.


Staff Pick Badge
Never Whistle at Night: An Indigenous Dark Fiction Anthology By Shane Hawk (Editor), Theodore C. Van Alst, Jr. (Editor) Cover Image
By Shane Hawk (Editor), Theodore C. Van Alst, Jr. (Editor)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593468463
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 19th, 2023

This is a top-tier horror anthology!! Each story feels like a stand-out, which makes perfect sense when you look at the impressive roster of authors within. Haunting, visceral, and OH SO GOOD!


Staff Pick Badge
Revelator: A novel By Daryl Gregory Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984898487
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 27th, 2024

A brutally tense Southern gothic that unwinds its secrets in unexpected and terrifying ways... moonshine, dark pasts, and hungry gods of the smoky mountains make for a gripping & disturbing read.


Staff Pick Badge
Kafka: A Manga Adaptation (Japanese Novellas) By Nishioka Kyodai, Nishioka Kyodai (Illustrator), David Yang (Translated by) Cover Image
By Nishioka Kyodai, Nishioka Kyodai (Illustrator), David Yang (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781782279846
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pushkin Press - October 24th, 2023

It doesn't matter if you've read everything (or nothing) by Kafka--these otherworldly adaptations will hypnotize you!


Nordic Visions: The Best of Nordic Speculative Fiction By Margrét Helgadóttir (Editor), John Ajvide Lindqvist, Maria Haskins, Karin Tidbeck Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781837860296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Solaris - October 10th, 2023

Staff Pick Badge
Nails and Eyes (Japanese Novellas) By Kaori fujino, Kendall Heitzman (Translated by) Cover Image
By Kaori fujino, Kendall Heitzman (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781782279549
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pushkin Press - September 12th, 2023

I'm not sure if I liked this or not, but I'm certainly still thinking about it! Repulsive (I don't think you're supposed to like this)!!


Staff Pick Badge
The Employees: A workplace novel of the 22nd century By Olga Ravn, Martin Aitken (Translated by) Cover Image
By Olga Ravn, Martin Aitken (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811234825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - February 7th, 2023

Beautiful, smart, & disconcerting--The Employees oozes with unexpected humanity. Shortlisted for the Booker Prize, this is literary sci-fi that transcends the genre. Gorgeous!


Staff Pick Badge
Big Swiss: A Novel By Jen Beagin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982153083
Availability: Not in-store, but we'd be happy to order one for you.
Published: Scribner - February 7th, 2023

A manic black comedy absolutely bursting at the seams with outlandish & horny energy. Great pick for fans of The Last Taxi Driver and Touch of Jen. I can already tell this will be one of my top reads of 2023. Fantastic!


Staff Pick Badge
A Touch of Jen By Beth Morgan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316704274
Availability: Not in-store, but we'd be happy to order one for you.
Published: Back Bay Books - February 21st, 2023

An instagram-fueled obsessive fantasy turns two millennials into monsters. Sharp & funny, Morgan slowly ensnare you in a web of psychedelic horror... this book features some of the most delightfully unlikeable characters I've read. Repulsive, deviant, & wonderful!!


Staff Pick Badge
It Came from the Closet: Queer Reflections on Horror By Joe Vallese (Editor), Carmen Maria Machado (Contribution by), Bruce Owens Grimm (Contribution by) Cover Image
By Joe Vallese (Editor), Carmen Maria Machado (Contribution by), Bruce Owens Grimm (Contribution by)
$25.95
ISBN: 9781952177798
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feminist Press - October 4th, 2022

This exploration into the queerness of horror is absolutely fantastic--and just as off-kilter as the genre deserves. Devastating, beautiful, funny, and smart; this is a must-read for horror fans!


Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk By Legs McNeil, Gillian McCain Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802125361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - August 9th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
The Houseguest: And Other Stories By Amparo Dávila, Matthew Gleeson (Translated by), Audrey Harris (Translated by) Cover Image
By Amparo Dávila, Matthew Gleeson (Translated by), Audrey Harris (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811228213
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - November 27th, 2018

This book is a must for fans of classic darkness à la Poe, Kafka, & the like. Dávila is a master of fear, obsession, paranoia, & terror. Deeply unsettling. Five stars.


Staff Pick Badge
Slug and Other Stories By Megan Milks Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781952177842
Availability: Backordered
Published: Feminist Press - November 9th, 2021

Absolutely disgusting! Bizarro body horror & hyper-sexuality; this book is truly nasty, and I loved every second of it!


Staff Pick Badge
This Thing Between Us: A Novel By Gus Moreno Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780374539238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - October 12th, 2021

This book--woah. Beautiful. Awful.
A man processes the sudden loss of his wife... darkness & cosmic horror slowly unspool. I've never read anything quite like this. A truly stunning read. Transcendent.


Staff Pick Badge
I Hold a Wolf by the Ears: Stories By Laura van den Berg Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250798664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - July 27th, 2021

Wow!! I loved this one. What a beautiful collection of short stories. All tinted with dreamy, bizarre, and unsettling hues. Good read for fans of Her Body and Other Parties.


Staff Pick Badge
Lapvona: A Novel By Ottessa Moshfegh Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593300282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 20th, 2023

Are you a fan of filth & depravity? Please, please, please read this sadistic and fevered black comedy. Best Moshfegh yet. Holy shit!!!