Gretchen's Picks

Gretchen joined the Snowbound crew in the summer of 2020, and has a very handsome dog named Rosie Cotton.

Do you judge a book by its cover?
ALWAYS! I only read books with good covers. I might be missing out on some good reads... but I doubt it.

Dogear or bookmark?
Now I am become death, the destroyer of books--dogear all the way. I've never managed to own a bookmark for more than a few hours.

Monogamist or polygamist reader?
I consider myself a read-onist (reading hedonist), thus the more the merrier!

Any classics you refuse to read?
Camus.

What's your most terrifying book experience?
When I'm reading in bed and drop my book on my face.

Do you eat while reading? If so, what's your favorite reading drink or snack?
I love a good reading beverage. Currently, red wine is my drink of choice.

Your mission as a bookseller?
To find and share great new reads with our community.

Staff Pick Badge
The Blacktongue Thief Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250799975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - May 10th, 2022

This is a perfect fantasy read. It checks all the boxes without being cliche. Great adventure, characters, and a surprising amount of humor. 10/10.


Staff Pick Badge
Sorrowland: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250849267
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 3rd, 2022

Woah. This book takes the horrors of American history & white supremacy, and creates an unputdownable tale of vengeance, motherhood, and queer love. Raw, gothic, and dark--this one will stick with you.


Staff Pick Badge
Velvet Was the Night Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593356845
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - May 3rd, 2022

A smoky noir set in 1970's Mexico City--romantic, dangerous and dark; it has all the right ingredients to take you on a twisty-turny & exciting adventure. Very fun!


Staff Pick Badge
My Heart Is a Chainsaw (The Indian Lake Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982137649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 29th, 2022

Not just any slasher--this is a meta-slasher! This book twists & transcends the "final girl" trope in awesome, brutal, and ultimately hopeful ways. A perfect read for fans of the genre, or a great intro for horror beginners. Delicious & evil!


Staff Pick Badge
Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head: Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593134351
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - March 1st, 2022

Vivid, luscious, and heartbreaking--Shire takes us on an exploration of, and journey to womanhood. Totally gorgeous!


Staff Pick Badge
Outlawed Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635578249
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 15th, 2022

Outlawed is a total blast. I've always loved a good western, and this book checks all the boxes--plus some extra!
This book nicely defies the macho tendencies of its genre--with a sparkling cast of queer & nonconforming characters, and a story revolving around women's reproductive rights. Check it out!


Staff Pick Badge
What Is Otherwise Infinite: Poems Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781951142971
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Tin House Books - January 18th, 2022

This collection of poems is beautiful and devastating. Every line--even the most sparse--feels striking and weighty. Definitely worth a read.


Shit Cassandra Saw: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143136620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - January 11th, 2022

Slug and Other Stories Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781952177842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feminist Press - November 9th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
This Thing Between Us: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374539238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - October 12th, 2021

This book--woah. Beautiful. Awful.
A man processes the sudden loss of his wife... darkness & cosmic horror slowly unspool. I've never read anything quite like this. A truly stunning read. Transcendent.


Staff Pick Badge
I Love You but I've Chosen Darkness: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593330210
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 5th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Trees: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450642
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 21st, 2021

Damn. Not sure I've ever read anything quite like this. So heavy, so sharp; an incredible revenge fantasy full of blood-soaked humor. A totally unforgettable read.


Staff Pick Badge
Revelator: A novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525657385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - August 31st, 2021

Moonshine AND monsters!? A creeping southern gothic that unwinds its secrets in unexpected and terrifying ways. A truly perfect read for autumn.


Staff Pick Badge
I Hold a Wolf by the Ears: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250798664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - July 27th, 2021

Wow!! I loved this one. What a beautiful collection of short stories. All tinted with dreamy, bizarre, and unsettling hues. Good read for fans of Her Body and Other Parties.


Staff Pick Badge
Nightbitch: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780385546812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - July 20th, 2021

A deliciously evil & surreal portrait of women, art, and motherhood. Darkly funny and the best book I've read this year. 5 stars!


Staff Pick Badge
A Touch of Jen Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316704267
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 13th, 2021

An instagram-fueled obsessive fantasy turns two millenials into real-life monsters. Sharp, funny, with a slow dive into psychedelic horror. A perfect read for the social media generation.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ghost Variations: One Hundred Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524748838
Availability: Backordered
Published: Pantheon - March 9th, 2021

Not necessarily scary, but haunting. Ghost Variations traverses the many ways one can be haunted, with ease--leaping from chilling to sweet, and devastating to beautiful.


Staff Pick Badge
Mexican Gothic Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525620808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 15th, 2021

I was expecting a purely gothic read from this title, but was thrilled and surprised by the amount of horror. Mexican Gothic would be a great read for fans of Bronte, but also Lovecraft.


Staff Pick Badge
A Master of Djinn (Dead Djinn Universe #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250267689
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - May 11th, 2021

This book is so much fun! Magic, adventure and intrigue--all set in a steampunk Cairo.
The world-building & characters are fantastic. If you pick this up, you'll quickly find yourself sucked into this story.
Would highly recommend to fantasy & mystery lovers!


Staff Pick Badge
Ring Shout Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250767028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - October 13th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Taxi Driver Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781951142681
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - April 6th, 2021

This book is INSANE!! In the best possible way. Lee Durkee has written a book that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching. You need to read this book, and then tell your friends to read this book. It's that good.


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765387561
Availability: May be available in our Warehouse - will ship in 3-7 days
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2020

If you're any kind of romantic, you NEED to read this book. This book will totally sweep you off your feet, and take you to unexpected--and beautiful--places.